The Night Sky

20140623_135200

I dreamed of the night sky.

This is strange, because I don’t think it’s ever happened before. When I was little, about four or five, I had a nightmare that the sun disappeared. But, since then, my dreams have avoided the sky’s sunlit and starlit glare.

Last night I dreamed of Arcturus, the brightest star in the constellation Boötes. Or is it Böotes? I have no idea how to pronounce it, but I know it as one of the summer constellations, best visible in the northwest around 11 pm this time of year. It’s one of the few constellations visible behind Portland’s ugly light pollution.

Often, I’ll look out and see the smart, red glare of Arcturus, and I think first of Mars. When I first noticed it, I thought it was Mars. But in my dream I knew, without a doubt, that this star was Arcturus. I stopped at the window and looked up into the half-cloudy sky, and, there, Arcturus shone brightly, redly, vividly. That was my whole dream. So simple. So strange. I have to wonder if, perhaps, it means something. Maybe it was my deeper unconscious telling me to leave the city, and wander in search of darker skies? Maybe it was a moment of spiritual significance? Or maybe it  was just a reminder not to forget that the sky is there, and that it’s beautiful? All I know is that, tonight, if the clouds dissipate, I’m going to stand at the window, watch the night sky, and greet Arcturus’ red-tinged light. I guess that will mean my dream has come true.

Leave a Reply

